Beauty, Makeup

Which Foundations Are Best For Oily Skin?

Are you feeling like you are constantly battling shine and breakouts? Frequently getting blackheads? Your foundation could be your culprit, so read on to discover the best foundation for your oily skin.

Before getting into the nitty gritty, I wanted to make it clear that you should never skip moisturiser, even if you have oily skin. It may seem counterintuitive, however stripping your skin of moisture could be adding to the problem. Stick with an oil-free or oil balancing moisturiser, my current fave is the Simple All Day Mattifying Moisturiser, it not only mattifies but contains ingredients which are proven to help fight spots, without drying out the skin.

Finding the perfect foundation consists of a lot of trial and error. So, this handy guide should help to narrow down your search and get you on the way to a flawless base.

Drugstore Foundations for Oily Skin

Drugstore/Affordable Foundations for Oily Skin.

Not everyone has the budget to splurge out an expensive foundation, but honestly, you don’t have to. There are some great affordable foundations which are perfect for those of us with oily skin. Mattifying foundations are going to be your best friend. Try to avoid ‘glowy or dewy’ foundations were possible, these will only accentuate your oils.

L’Oréal Infallible 24HR Matte Foundation – £9.99

L'Oreal Infallible 24hr Matte Foundation (Oily Skin Foundation)

A soft, natural looking foundation, the L’Oreal Infallible is full coverage so will perfectly hide any redness or dark spots. Although matte, it does not have a cakey appearance and helps to blur prominent pores. At under £10, you cannot go wrong. It has many of the benefits of high-end foundations but without the hefty price tag. Not only that, this foundation contains SPF 18 to protect the skin against sun damage (although I would recommend applying SPF separately rather than relying on the SPF in your foundation).

Max Factor Facefinity 3 in 1 Foundation – £13.99

Max Factor Facfinity 3 in 1 Foundation (Oily Skin Foundation)

Another affordable full coverage foundation which helps to control the shine from oily skin. It claims to be a primer, foundation, and concealer all in one bottle, however I would still recommend applying both a primer before, and a concealer after. This also contains an SPF, slightly higher than the L’Oreal foundation, at SPF 20. Despite containing an SPF, it does not make the skin appear any oiler, which is exactly what we are looking for. It has a breathable formula which feels lightweight on the skin.

Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless Foundation – £7.99

Maybelline Fit Me Matte and Poreless Foundation (Oily skin foundation)

The final drugstore foundation, and the most affordable at under £8, it is such a steal!! I have used this foundation for quite some time and I have a full review, albeit old, on it here. It contains flexible micro-powders which help to control shine and blur larger pores. It has a medium coverage but can be easily built up if required. The Matte + Poreless range has over 40 shades, which is brilliant, especially for a drugstore foundation.

High-End Foundations for Oily Skin

High-End Foundations for Oily Skin

If high-end makeup is your thing, then listen up. Before diving in at the deep end and spending £30+ on a foundation, ask at the brands beauty counter for a sample of their foundation. This is a great hack which will allow you to trial the foundation without spending a small fortune.

Fenty Beauty Soft Matte Foundation – £27.00

Fenty Beauty Soft Matte Foundation (Oily Skin Foundation)

In over 50 shades, the Fenty Soft Matte Foundation is perfect for keeping the skin shine free for hours upon hours. I have an in-depth review on it here. It is a buildable medium to full coverage foundation, but make sure to prep your skin using a moisturiser and primer. This foundation can cling to dry patches if you are not careful, so make sure your skin is fully hydrated before applying.

Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation – £34.00

Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation (Oily Skin Foundation)

The priciest out of them all, but in my opinion, the best! Again, I have a full review here. The Estee Lauder Double Wear has the largest foundation shade range that I’m aware of, with over 60 different shades, that’s incredible! It has an oil-free formula, helping to control the natural oils of the skin. For me, I do not need to powder regularly when wearing this foundation. The only time I need to powder is when I have first applied my makeup. I cannot recommend this foundation enough to any one with oily or combination skin.

This guide should have given you a head start when searching for a foundation for oily skin. Look out for mattifying foundations and read reviews to discover what others with a similar skin type think. Get samples where you are able, so you can try before you buy.

Until Another Day x

Must have foundations for oily skin.

37 thoughts on “Which Foundations Are Best For Oily Skin?”

  1. This is a lifesaver for me to be honest! I have very oily skin and huge pores so this is definitely up my ally. I can say for sure the Estée Lauder foundation is amazing! That’s definitely my go to lux brand, but I haven’t been able to find the perfect budget foundation for my skin and I’ve never tried the ones you listed so I’ll definitely have to do that. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have really dry skin so this isn’t really for me but I’ve tried/ sampled 3 of these before and they’ve all looked terrible on me so I’m fairly confident they’re all amazing on oily skin 😂 x

    Sophie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have oily skin and I’ve tried a few of these, but I’m really hoping to try Double Wear soon! I just didn’t purchase it as it is quite out of my budget. I would highly recommend The Body Shop’s Matte Clay Skin Clarifying foundation, Maybelline’s Superstay Foundation and L’Oreal’s new Matte Full Cover foundation (similar to the one you posted about but its even MORE mattifying and has SPF). Superstay is kinda my holy grail for oily skin 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have oily skin so I tend not to bother with foundation at all, just concealer where I need it and a little powder. But I keep hearing such good things about EL DW so I’ve asked for some for Christmas to see. But I will definitely do as you suggest and get a sample first so I can check the colour matching – great tip, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Really good review post. I really need a new foundation and I’m going to try the L’Oréal one first and see how I find it. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  6. I’ve heard so many good things about Estee Lauder and I may have to give them a try one day. But for now, my inexpensive budget is intrigued by the Loreal foundation. I need one that has full coverage where I don’t have to be applying it over and over and has a matte finish. I had one that had a liquidy shine finish and it smeared everywhere lol, it was not pretty xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks for this, I have combination skin so finding the right foundation that will combat my oiliness but doesn’t cling to dry patches is so difficult! I have to say I’ve never gone wrong with L’Oréal which is good as it’s within budget, if I want to try a higher end foundation I’ll definitely try the EL Double Wear! X

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks a lot of this!! I’ve used Fit Me before and I agree that it’s good!! Also, I have a veeery fair skin and it’s lightest shade fit my skin color so well while so other foundations are either too dark or too ‘pink’ for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment