Birchbox

Birchbox – April 2018

I can’t believe it has been a month since I received by March Birchbox, the days are flying by… Now onto April!

What is in my April Birchbox?

The theme for this month’s box is ‘Brighten up your day’, it was created in partnership with the wonderful Cath Kidston in recognition of the brands 25th Birthday. The box is covered in one of Cath’s iconic flower designs, so pretty.

Model Co – Baked Highlighter (Moonshine)

Each month you are able to choose from 2 items to be added into your box. This month it was a Model Co Highlighter in 2 different shades, I went for Moonshine.

I was utterly shocked when I saw the sample size, it doesn’t look much bigger than a 50p coin! I suppose this is favourable if you need a highlighter to travel with, but for me, I was unimpressed.

Upon swatching on my hand it looked pretty promising to begin with. However, when I applied it to the tops of my cheeks I could barely see it’s shimmer and glow. I think this shade is slightly too dark for my skin, because it leaves a kind of dark cast on my face. To see if I could make the most out of it, I tried it as an eyeshadow to add a sheen to my lids, which I thought looked nice.

I won’t be purchasing the full size, I have so many highlighters that I rate so much more than this. Despite the sample being significantly smaller than I expected, I highly doubt I will use it all up. I think it will get lost at the bottom of my makeup drawer.

Beautaniq Beauty – Fill + Tame Brow Gel (Brunette)

I’m always on the hunt for new brow products so was looking forward to trying this out. I received the shade brunette which is perfect for me. After applying my usual brow products I went in with the gel. I noticed a dramatic difference in their appearance, it added extra coverage to the sparce areas whilst making them look thick but without looking unnatural.

Cath Kidston – Hand Cream

So, this month’s box was designed in collaboration with Cath Kidston, therefore it was only fitting to include one of her products. This cute little hand cream fits perfectly in my handbag, great for on the go moisturising. Delicate floral notes filled my nostrils, making my hands smell and feel like a million dollars.

Percy & Reed – Perfectly Perfecting Wonder Balm

When I saw this brand again I didn’t have high hopes, after trying another product of theirs from a previous box which I didn’t like at all. I was presently surprised when I first tried it, it has a lovely smell compared to the other item I’ve tried.

In the first instance I applied to wet hair and it left my hair feeling softer, I definitely noticed the difference once my hair had dried. I’ve also used this in between hair washes and it helped to tame frizz…impressive.

Overall a nice product so far, I may consider buying a full size if it continues to work for me.

AfterSpa – Magic Makeup Remover Cloth

As the name implies, this ‘magic’ little cloth works wonders at removing excess makeup. It is machine washable so can be used multiple times over, which in turn, benefits the environment. Did you know that it takes around 100 years for standard makeup wipes to degrade in landfill? It’s about time I converted to other methods.

This removes makeup instantly with just a splash of water, it removes excess mascara that makeup wipes usually struggle with. Once I’ve used my daily face wash, I use this to extract any existing makeup from my face with surprising results.

Thoughts on this month’s box?

I was pretty disappointed with the contents when I initially opened it, this may be due to how much I loved March’s box (check out last month’s review here). But after testing out the products, I have come to the conclusion that it is a decent box. I really like the Wonder Balm, it seems to work well with my curls, I often struggle to find haircare products that perform on my hair. Another favourite of mine is the Makeup Remover Cloth, it eliminates any remaining makeup on my face, helping to improve the appearance of my skin.

What did you get in this month’s box? Are you impressed? Let me know your thoughts.

Until another day x

Leave a comment